Please use the buttons or tabs above to explore our site
(N.B. There are recent notices on the Welcome Page)
Uttoxeter War Memorial
NOTE:-ALL UTTOXETER U3A MEETINGS ARE CANCELLED until further notice due to the Coronavirus outbreak . Click on the NEWS button above for U3A updates
The memorial, carved in Hollington Stone by Bridgman and Sons of Lichfield, was first unveiled in 1928 and paid for by public subscription.
It stands on the site of four shops that used to run parallel to Bridge St in an area known as Bear Hill, which is where the town stocks and pillory once stood
The memorial was unveiled by Colonel Radcliffe who, had commanded the 6th North Staffs Regiment during a 1918 attack that resulted in so many Uttoxeter men losing their lives.
It is now has Grade Two Listed Buildings status