This page gives you information about the Tiptree u3a committee

  • Members
  • Meetings
  • Responsibilities


Chair Jacquie Stevens
Committee Secretary Jan Elliott
Treasurer Debbie Ledwell

Committee Members

Membership Secretary Janet Carter
Groups Coordinator Mike Pattenden
Assistant Treasurer Gareth Williams
Social Secretary Margaret Williams
Speaker Secretary Susan Fox
IT & Publicity Silvan Ledwell

You can contact any of the above by email using the Contact page.

Our constitution allows for up to 12 committee members. If you would like to help our u3a by becoming a committee member then please contact our Chair for more information.

Committee Meetings

The committee meets every month on the Wednesday of the week before the monthly meeting. The meeting is held at 3:15 pm and is usually held in the training room of the local Tesco supermarket.

Any Tiptree u3a member is welcome to attend a meeting to observe or to present their ideas for developing our u3a to make it more fun, interesting and rewarding for members. Space is limited so please email our Committee Secretary to make arrangements.

Committee Responsibilities

Tiptree u3a is a charity and by law has to be registered with the Charity Commission. This means that all committee members are automatically trustees of the charity and jointly are legally responsible for the charity’s management and administration.

Committee members have attended a “Keeping it legal” training day where we were made even more aware of the importance of documenting the procedures and policies we must adopt to fulfil the legal responsibilities we owe to our members.

Our policies, procedures and all other published documents and forms can be viewed, printed and downloaded by clicking on the Documents page. These are:

  • Member Information
  • Our constitution, which controls the way our u3a is managed
  • Policies and procedures for members
  • Policies and procedures governing trustees