Executive Committee members:

  • are elected at the first committee meeting following the Annual General Meeting usually held in July.
  • are all trustees of the Newmarket U3A registered charity no.1183168.
  • are volunteers who donate a significant amount of their free time because they want to contribute to running and improving Newmarket U3A to the best of their abilities according to their skills.
  • have roles that typically have a fixed term attached to them (see the Constitution).
  • meet on each third Monday of the month at 10am. (See Minutes.)


Tim Young Niddy Walpole Joanne Garner Di Angus-Smith
Chairman Vice Chair Secretary Treasurer
Tim Young Niddy Walpole Joanne Garner Di Angus-Smith
Cheryl Bampton Stephanie Ellington Trish Newell
Membership Secretary Groups Liaison Speaker Meetings
Cheryl Bampton Stephanie Ellington Trish Newell

Non-committee role: Web Editor Chris Timmins


Sub-committees perform a function or a specific task to support the Executive Committee. Each sub-committee includes at least one member of the main committee to ensure full and prompt reporting. The main committee agrees terms of reference and their role which is purely advisory and does not have decision-making powers or expenditure authority.

Activities Sub-Committee

Di Angus-Smith, Rosemary Foreman, Steve Garner, Kath Gifkins, Niddy Walpole and Tim Young

Publicity Sub-Committee

Stephanie Ellington, Angie Harrison, John Herring and Tim Young

Resources Sub-Committee

Di Angus-Smith, Cheryl Bampton, Liz Langley, Niddy Walpole, Joan Watkinson, Tim Young