Holme Valley

Our committee

Registered charity - 1171722

Most of the day to day practical arrangements of Holme Valley U3A are looked after by an elected committee. Members of the committee are also trustees, so they have obligations to make sure we all respect the Third Age Trust ethos.
The committee meets once a month, usually on the first Wednesday, timed to help us prepare for the Friday all-member meeting. We welcome ideas, so if you have one please share it with any committee member. We have reports on finance, membership and progress with setting up groups.

The first elections for your committee took place at the AGM in April 2015. The shape of the committee was also approved at that meeting. It is set out in our constitution which was also approved at the 2015 AGM. Constitutions can be changed at a subsequent AGM or EGM subject to approval of the national U3A and two thirds of those present voting. Any change to the constitution must be published well in advance. With that in mind the committee looked at the constitution in some detail early in 2016 and decided it worked well as it was. An amendment to section 3. Charitable purposes, recommended by the national U3A and required by the Charity Commission, was made to the constitution in March 2018.

The constitution sets out that we elect some individuals to specific posts. They are the ‘Chairman, not more than two Vice Chairmen, Treasurer and Secretary’.

In 2018 you elected:

Tom GreenChairmanAs well as chairing most committee meetings and your monthly meetings, Tom is adjudicator and leader, making sure all works smoothly.
Ian McullochBusiness SecretaryIan is our main liaison with the regional and national U3A. He also coordinates our Media and publicity and is the committee member who would deal with any disciplinary issues.
Barry DaleVice-ChairBarry will assist Tom as necessary, having previously served as our chair. He will also help other officers with specific projects.
David BarnettTreasurerDavid keeps a close eye on our finances. He has also ensured each group can manage their finances, including setting up an account so we can pay for things like theatre tickets in advance.

Our constitution says there are a maximum of ten people elected to the committee. The remaining committee members have taken on specific tasks, but to ensure flexibility these are not specified when they are elected.

Jenny BagworthMembership SecretaryJenny is the first point of contact for most members and deals with many phone enquiries. She keeps records and issues membership cards. She also ensures new members know how to find out about activities and adds them to our email database.
Shirley BoardmanGroups coordinatorShirley makes sure we have the groups people want. She keeps in touch with group leaders and ensures members know about changes to groups, including the creation of new ones.
Alan AinleySpeaker coordinatorAlan gathers details of potential speakers and arranges for their attendance at each monthly meeting. He arranges payment and ensures they have the equipment they need on the day.
Dorothy Foster Minute secretary Dorothy keeps records of the monthly committee meetings.
Anne BaldwinNewsletterAnne set up our website, now encouraging group leaders to set up and take responsibility for their own pages. Anne also edits and compiles our quarterly newsletter and recently the monthly updates.
Roy BiggsIT and WebsiteRoy was elected onto the committee at the 2018 AGM having been a co-opted member since September 2017 and is currently our IT database and website administrator.

We have one vacancy and can also co-opt an additional member to the committee after elections.
Jackie Green offers assistance when Shirley is away. We would like more individuals to shadow or support current officers in this way.
There is also scope for smaller groups planning on specific issues, such as planning events. These groups or sub-committees would need to include one member of the main committee, but could also include other individuals.
We are also working to ensure our group leaders all know each other and can share ideas. We produced a briefing pack for them and we are arrange discussion meetings.