Wyre U3A

Minutes AGM 9th June 2022 Thornton Little Theatre

Attendees: Kathleen Smith- Acting Chairperson, Graham Essex-Crosby - Treasurer,

Ann Davies - Membership Secretary, Ken Speakman- Assets and Webmaster,

Angela Porter-Maher – Secretary

Quorate number of Wyre U3A members

Apologies: Diane Whitworth, Cindy and Steve Potter

Minutes of AGM 2021 approved as accurate

Chairman's Address

Kath explained that she was appointed as "stand in" Chair person, when the existing Chair, Michael Buckley, had to step down.

She said that she enjoys the u3a for its ability to bring people together and to share knowledge and experience. Members are encouraged to come forward to make a contribution as their knowledge is valuable. Their presence on the committee or taking active parts in the various groups is welcomed.

Members who attend on their own are invited to introduce themselves to welcoming persons on door so that they can be introduced to other members and not feel isolated.

Discussion as to how information about the AGM and the actions of the committee could be more effectively disseminated to members to be taken and further discussed at monthly committee meeting.

Discussion re length of term for each committee member. Clarity to be given at the next monthly meeting.

Approved

Treasurers Report

Audited accounts had been sent to members prior to the meeting. Brief summary given by the Treasurer.

Query re depreciation of equipment. Is it shown on spread sheet and what is total value of assets.? To be taken to committee meeting for clarification. To be included in audited accounts 22/23.

Query re rate paid to Speakers. Maximum payment is £75 to cover expenses. Wyre U3A members who are Speakers do not get paid. Agreed that we should have speakers at monthly meetings and that they should be paid.

Approve	0
---------	---

Ian Shaw to continue as Auditor of accounts 22/23

Approved

Proposed increase of yearly subscription by £2.00 to £17.00.

Approved

Nominations to the committee

Susan Cox Proposed: Ann Davies Seconded: Des Stevenson

Jennifer Machell Proposed: Jim Swain Seconded: Norma Culshaw

Approved.

AGM ended at 2.45