

ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

Minutes of the Annual General Meeting held at Brookhouse, Barnsley Road, Wakefield on 20 May 2022

1. Present and apologies for absence:

There were 50 members present and entitled to vote. Apologies were received from 19 members listed below.

Michael Dufton opened the meeting and welcomed the members.

2. Minutes of the last meeting and any matters arising:

The minutes of the annual general meeting held on 19 November were agreed, proposed by Elaine Machell, seconded by June Walton. There were no matters arising.

3. Chairman's report:

Another six months have passed and gradually our u3a is returning to something like it was over two years ago. The reason why we are holding another AGM just six months after the last one is because the committee felt that November wasn't a good time so made the decision to move it to May. As AGMs have to take place every 12 months we could not leave it until May 2023.

This year we have 397 members and 37 groups are running. As I write this, Music Appreciation is looking for a leader.

We have held several successful events since November. In December a New Members Lunch was held at the Sun Inn at Lofthouse, we hope to make this an annual event. The Wind Band gave a very enjoyable Christmas Concert at Horbury Community Centre. In February a tour of the Archive Centre was so successful a second one was organised. In March we had a pleasant lunch for Group Leaders, also at The Sun Inn.

I now want to give my grateful thanks to my committee- Barbara, Hilary, Jenny. Michael D, Michael M and Paul for all the hard work they have put in during this very difficult time. Earlier this year, Barbara, our secretary, had to resign. I hope she will be able to return when her circumstances allow she is very much missed.

We desperately need people to serve on the committee if our u3a is to survive and as I said last year "Nothing in u3a just happens, everything depends on you, its members. The more we share the tasks the stronger we will become.

4. Treasurer's report:

Good morning everyone, my name is Michael Manders, the hon treasurer and it is my responsibility to present the annual accounts to the AGM.

As you can see from the accounts this covers a period of seven months only. And I am sure you will have observed that we created a surplus of funds to the tune of £1800,16.



I realise that looks a particularly good result, but we need to bear in mind that a great deal of expenditure occurs in the following few months, so caution will be needed going forward.

Looking in more detail at the accounts, on the income side the only exception is the gift aid which covers two years' receipts.

On the expenses side probably the most outstanding item is the committee expenses, a breakdown of this is as follows:

Printing	£257.00
Afternoon tea	£187.00
Lunch for new members	£133.00
Members parking fines	£420.00
General running expenses	£313.48
Total	£1310.48

You will also notice that venue hire is £6080.00 Whereas venue contributions are £4843.00

If anyone has any questions I will try my best to answer them or you can contact me and I will do my best to resolve any queries.

I recommend these accounts to be approved by the meeting.

I would also like to take this opportunity to thank our auditor, Mr B Lister and hope a letter of thanks will be sent on behalf of Wakefield & District u3a.

5. Jenny Stephens read out the nominations to the committee, with proposers and seconders. Michael Dufton then asked for nominations from the floor. Hilary Fowler was nominated for chairman by Pauline Turney, seconded by Elaine Machell. As this was a contested election, ballot forms were given out to members. They were kindly totalled up by Neil Hansen, our speaker. The result was a win for Hilary Fowler. As the remainder of the roles were uncontested the chairman asked for a show of hands for each nominee. The following were all elected:

Michael Manders, Treasurer Jenny Stephens, Secretary Michael Dufton, Vice chair Patricia Fay, Minutes Secretary Val Carter, Trustee

Chris Thomason, Trustee

Michael Dufton then asked Hilary Fowler to take over chairing the meeting. Hilary said that Paul Scott had also been nominated as trustee and she asked the meeting to confirm him on the committee. He was elected unanimously on a show of hands.

6. The next item on the agenda was to adopt a new constitution. Barbara Morris objected, on the basis that the membership had not had the opportunity to study this



long document. Hilary Fowler accepted Barbara's argument and asked the meeting to agree to defer consideration of the proposed new constitution. This was passed on a show of hands. Hilary said a copy would be emailed to all the members but pointed out that there were hard copies available at the meeting for anyone who would prefer to look at a printed copy.

7. The treasurer had recommended that, in light of our u3a's financial situation the membership subscription should be increased, which the committee had agreed and now brought to the AGM. Acceptance of the fees below was proposed by Sandra Head, seconded by Ruth Padgett and agreed on a show of hands. Subscriptions for the membership year commencing in September 2022, will therefore be as follows:

Individual membership - £12 (up from £10)

Affiliated (for people who are members of another u3a) - £8 (up from £6) Enhanced for members who wish to receive the Third Age Trust publication Third Age Matters - £14.50 (up from £12.50).

It is noted that the cost of Third Age Matters has increased by 85p but the differential over the standard membership fee will remain the same for the coming year.

Proposed by Sandra Head, seconded by Ruth Padgett - <u>carried</u>

8. Hilary Fowler thanked the three committee members who have stood down since the AGM last November:

Hilary Elstone has been our valued chairman for the last three years and Hilary Fowler expressed her appreciation of Hilary Elstone's contribution.

Elaine Machell has served our u3a in various official roles for many years and we hope still to see lots of her now she has stood down from the committee.

We hope that Barbara Morris will feel able to return to the committee in due course when her current commitments have eased.

Hilary proposed a vote of thanks to Hilary Elstone, Barbara Morris and Elaine Machell and also to our honorary auditor, Mr Brian Lister.

Carried on a show of hands.

9. There being no other business the meeting finished at 11.00am

Apologies were received from:

Andrew Cliffe Jean Irvin
Penny Cliffe Bryan Lee
Hilary Elstone Liz Maher
Patricia Fay Danny Parsonson
Scott Flaving Beth Rudkin
Ann Glew Florence Schoeb
Geoff Glew Christine Schofield

Paul Scott Rosamund Scott Jenny Scrupps Shirley Wigglesworth

Julie Wroe