TWEEDDALE U3A Annual General Meeting (Hybrid)

Tuesday 5th September 2023 at 2pm

1. Welcome and Apologies:

Sheila Jackson (Chair) welcomed members, thanked them for attending and declared the meeting quorate. *37* members were present in person, with nine on zoom, whilst 41 apologies were recorded. Lists are attached.

2. Minutes of AGM on 12^h September 2022:

Approved. Proposed: Margaret Semple Seconded: Elizabeth Gray

3. Matters Arising: None.

4. Chair's Report:

Sheila Jackson presented her annual report (attached) and gave a summary of the main points, as follows: over the past year Tu3a membership has increased from 244 to 252. Various publicity methods, including an article in Peebles Life, are being used to encourage new members to join. Two informal meetings were held to welcome 22 new members. Monthly meetings were attended by an average of 43 members. Currently there are 26 interest groups and ideas for new ones, as well as suggestions for a summer outing in 2024, would be welcomed from the membership. A new Facebook group has been formed. The Bulletin, normally circulated monthly, is to become a bimonthly newsletter for a trial period. The website has been improved.

On behalf of Tweeddale u3a, Sheila Jackson warmly thanked the retiring Treasurer (Urs Ziltener) and Membership Secretary(Dorothy Taylor) who have made a reliable and significant contribution to the work of the Committee, often through difficult times. She paid tribute to Jim Strachan (Beacon Site Administrator) and Ian Rodwell (Web Administrator) who, with their special expertise, help the administration to function smoothly. Both members have been invited to continue in their roles. She also thanked the other Tu3a volunteers for their technical, catering and practical support at monthly meetings.

5. Treasurer's Report:

Urs Ziltener delivered his report (attached) and explained the accounts in detail. The current bank balance stands at £3660.58. There were no questions.

In view of the healthy bank balance he was able to announce the Committee decision to reduce the annual subscription from £15 to £12 for the year 2024. Subscriptions would be due in January 2024.

6. Committee Nominations and Elections:

The Chair reported on a number of Committee vacancies: Urs Ziltener (Treasurer) and Dorothy Taylor (Membership Secretary) are stepping down from their posts. The Secretary (Sheena Jones), who has also served the required three years, has offered to continue for a further year. The post of Vice Chair is currently vacant. To allow flexibility within the Committee, two more Members without Portfolio have been nominated.

Elections then took place. The following members were elected unopposed:

Vice Chair: Robina Hutton

Proposed: Margaret Semple Seconded: Nancy Norman

Treasurer: Rona Strathdee.

Proposed: Elizabeth Gray Seconded: Sheena Jones

Secretary: Sheena Jones

Proposed: Sheila Jackson Seconded: Marsali Macdonald

Member without Portfolio: Margaret Alderson

Proposed: Sheila Jackson Seconded: Elizabeth Gray

Member without Portfolio: Bruce Irvine

Proposed: Rosemary Hamilton Seconded: David Baird

The remaining Committee members are willing to remain in post.

Two technical advisers with special expertise (Jim Strachan, Beacon Site Administrator, and Ian Rodwell, Web Administrator) were appointed to support the membership for a further year.

7. Presentation by Sandra Whitnell (u3a Living History Adviser)

Sandra then gave a short talk on the subject of the national u3a movement. She reminded members of help which is readily available through central office. For example, u3a has over 80 special UK-wide subject advisers who can offer ideas and advice to groups free of charge. The subjects they cover are wide-ranging and include the Arts, Crafts, Music, Writing, Jazz, Laughter Yoga, the Scottish Colourists, etc. These advisers produce and circulate subject guides. They can arrange one-to-one discussions on zoom or online talks. U3a also runs online interest groups which members can join, at a cost of £12 per year, if the subject that interests them is not available locally. A taster session is due to take place in October. Sandra also drew members' attention to the variety of online learning events available each year through u3a. These are free of charge.

Sandra leads the local Living History group where members are being encouraged to look at, for example, the role of women and their domestic arrangements at a particular period. Their next group meeting is on 14th September at 2.30pm.

Sheila Jackson thanked Sandra for her useful summary of possibilities available through u3a.

8. Any Other Business

Susan Rossborough announced details of talks arranged for forthcoming open meetings:

10 October 2023 Sandy Maxwell-Forbes, GTOS The Great Tapestry of Scotland

14 November 2023 Gillian Paterson, Lloyds Banking Group The Art of Banknotes 12 December 2023 Stephen Scott, The Mills of Tweeddale Project The Mills of Tweeddale

9 January 2024 Keith Burns, Mapa Scotland The Restoration of the Great Polish Map of Scotland

13 February 2024 Stewart Houston Tales from the Courts

- **9. Provisional Date of Next AGM:** Tuesday 10th September 2024 (second Tuesday in month)
- **10. Formal Closure of Meeting**: The meeting closed at 2.45pm.

Attendees at Tweeddale u3a AGM (5th September 2023)

Alan Alderson

Margaret Alderson

David Baird

Sarah Baird

Rosemary Donald

Liz Douglas

Peggy Ferguson

Eileen Fletcher

Douglas Gray

Elizabeth Gray

Rosemary Hamilton

Sheila Harvey

Gill Hawken

Robina Hutton

Bruce Irvine

Sheila Jackson

Sheena Jones

Maureen Kerr

Jim Lyon

Marsali Macdonald

Josie Millar

Andrew Moore

Helen Narracott

Nancy Norman

Carol Ramsay

Jim Ramsay

Ian Rodwell

Susan Rossborough

Margaret Semple

Sheila Spence

Rona Strathdee

Dorothy Taylor

Paul Taylor

Rosalind Taylor

Brian Whitnell

Sandra Whitnell

Florence Whittaker

Urs Ziltener **Total: 38**

On zoom:

Andy Wignall

Myra Wignall

Cedric Blakey

Marilyn Neale

Joyce Scobie

Ros Pyatt

Ann Cook

Jenny Wilson

Beryl Seal **Total: 9**

Apologies (the following members ceded their vote to the Chair)

Carol Archibald

Elizabeth Bintliff

John Bintliff

Cecelia Clegg

Paul Dickson

Peggy Ferguson

Christa Hook

Nina Lomas

Peter Moore

Janet Shearer

Jim Strachan

Joyce Strachan

Dorothy Thomson **Total: 13**

Other Apologies: (* = voting by proxy. Therefore part of quorum))

Debbie Baird*

Lyndal Bale

Mike Betts

Margaret Betts

Christopher Butler-Cole

Jane Butler-Cole

Enid Crerie

Adelaide Dalling

Sandy Goodwill

Jane Holmes

Liz Johnston

Fiona McGill

Elspeth Mackay
Victoria McLellan
Chris McPhilips
Peter Maudsley
Ann Maudsley
Brigitte Morvand
Gretta Robertson*
Ruth Searle
Jenny Sherry
Anne Taylor
Mardy Walker*
Fred Walker*
Lucy Walker
Rosemary Waterhouse

Elaine Wright **Total: 27**