Minutes of the

16th ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

PRESTON PARK u3a

Held on Thursday 7th December 2023 at 2.15 pm

At Knoyle Hall, Knoyle Road, Brighton

The Chairman, John Colman, welcomed everyone to the meeting.

1. Apologies for absence

Not applicable.

2. Minutes of the AGM held on 1 December 2022

The minutes of the AGM were noted and, having been on the PPu3a website for many months, these were deemed to be accepted and approval of the minutes was proposed and seconded.

3. Matters Arising

There were no Matters Arising from the minutes.

4. Chair's Report

The Chairman gave his annual report which is available on the website.

5. Treasurer's Report and Accounts for the year ended 31 October 2022

The Treasurer, John Curwen, had circulated his Annual Report and Accounts in advance of the AGM and invited questions. There were none and the Accounts were duly approved.

6. To approve the report of the examiner of the Accounts

The accounts for the year ending 31 October 2023 have been examined, reviewed and signed off by Jenny Edgell.

7. Appointment of Independent Examiner for 2024 It was agreed that the Committee would appoint an Independent Examiner for next year.

8. Retirement of Officers and other Executive Committee members

At this point all existing Officers and Committee members retired, as required by our Constitution.

It was noted that Terry Careford is unable to stand again for the Committee, having served for many years as Chair, Vice Chair and Committee member covering numerous roles. He has been a mainstay of the Committee since our u3a was formed and John Colman thanked him for his contribution and presented him with a gift voucher.

Roger Luther has produced the monthly update for many years and has now handed this on. Norma Noakes has been a past Committee member and more recently has been looking after our website and is handing this role on. Roger and Norma were thanked for their work both on and off the Committee.

9. Election of Officers and Committee members

Christine Hooper as Secretary has received the following nominations for Office which have been proposed and seconded. The nomination forms were confirmed as all in order and the nominees have all agreed to stand:

Vice Chair	John Colman
Vice Chair	Philip Haughey
Treasurer	John Curwen
Secretary	Christine Hooper
Committee	Kevin Thomas
Committee	Charmian Hartley
Committee	Carol Jenkins
Committee	Susan Philip
Committee	Liz Rugg

No other nominations were received for Office so the above were elected for 2024 without the need for a vote.

It was noted that no nominations have been received for the role of Chair. The outgoing Chair, John Colman, advised that the Committee is confident that they can run our u3a successfully with two Vice Chairs and with other Committee members covering the role of Chair at meetings. However, the Committee has the power to co-opt a new Chair from amongst our membership during the year and it is hoped that someone may come forward to fulfil this role.

It is usual for the person becoming Chair to have some experience of Committee work, however, this is not essential. John Colman stressed that we need to continue to have a regular influx of new Committee members as the time that they can serve is limited and we always need fresh ideas. Any member is welcome as an observer at one of our monthly Committee meetings to find out more about what is involved.

Our Constitution provides that, in the event of no name being put forward as Chair in advance of the meeting, those members attending the AGM should be asked whether anyone is prepared to come forward for this role. No-one was forthcoming.

10. Any Other Business

The first monthly meeting will be on Thursday 11 January 2024 at 2.00 pm. This will be our annual Showcase meeting where members can find out more about our various Interest Groups. There will also be an opportunity to renew membership if not already done so.

It was noted that, as this is election year, our May monthly meeting will be the second Thursday in May.

The AGM next year will be held on Thursday 5th December 2024.

SignedChair

Date

2