



24th Annual General Meeting of the Mansfield & District u3a

One Call Stadium, Quarry Lane, Mansfield, Notts. NG18 5DA Tuesday 19 September 2023 10.00-10.20am

MINUTES

Background:

A month prior to the meeting the Notice of the Meeting had been emailed out to all members. This was followed by the Agenda, Minutes from the previous meeting, Balance Sheet and reports from the Chair, Treasurer, Membership Secretary, Groups Co-ordinator, Web Administrator and Newsletter Editor. These items were included in the Newsletter and on the Website and Facebook.

The number of attendees present (115) and the proxy votes received (13) ensured that we achieved quoracy of 20% of the paid-up membership.

1. Chairman's Welcome:

The Chair, Yvonne Kennison, welcomed members to the 24th AGM of the Mansfield and District u3a and thanked everyone for attending.

Yvonne also thanked the Committee and Group Leaders for their hard work and commitment over the previous year.

2. Apologies and their Proxy Votes had been received from:

Suzanne Robinson, Lorna Pye, Jill West, Linda Oliver, Sandra Cleator Lynne Payne, Sue Cotterill and Norman Tomlinson. Plus Graham Kirk, Harry Pye, Jane and Casten Kockum and Irena Dubowski.

3. Approval of the AGM Minutes from the Meeting held on Tuesday 20 September 2022:

The Minutes were approved after being **PROPOSED** by Philip Tucker and **SECONDED** by Bill Harrison.

4. Matters Arising:

There were no matters arising.

5. Treasurers Report:

Gill Mallinder confirmed that the Books had been audited, checked and circulated to all members.

Mike Allen enquired about a payment of £990 attributed to the Groups. Gill explained that it is an internal payment, with some money transferring into the main account for payments to be made.

Sundries included the payment of £180 for Children in Need. Stationery/postage costs included the paper and ink purchased in the sum of £202.27.

The bank figure is not a true figure as it includes £2000 taken by the Social Group for advance tickets and will be paid out again.

Gill thanked Sheila Pegg for all her work on the Group Accounts and Jean Hatton for her contribution.

The Financial Report was approved unanimously after first being **PROPOSED** by Graham Headworth and **SECONDED** by Sylvia Slack.

6. Nominations for the Committee:

There were three members standing down from the Committee this year:

- Yvonne Kennison (Chair)
- Mick Kennison (groups Co-Ordinator)
- Lynne Payne (Committee Member

New members seeking election to the Committee are:

- Elaine Huckerby (Chair)
- Irena Dubowski (Vice Chair)
- Gill Mallinder (Treasurer)
- Sheila Pegg (Group Treasurer)
- Kathryn Henshaw (Business/Minutes Secretary)
- Philip Tucker (Speaker Finder)
- Jean Hatton (Membership Secretary)
- Stella Hall (Groups Co-ordinator)
- Hilary Miller (Committee Member)
- Susan Ford (Committee Member)
- John Lawes (Committee Member)
- Carole Harrison (Committee Member)

It was **PROPOSED** by Trevor Kirby and **SECONDED** by June Fell that the Committee be re-elected en bloc. This was unanimously **APPROVED**.

Members with Special Expertise are:

- Bob Longden (Website Administrator)
- Mike Allen (Website Editor)
- Yvonne and Mick Kennison (Newsletter Editors)
- Sarah Spurry (Facebook Officer)

It was **PROPOSED** by Sue Goodly and **SECONDED** by Philip Tucker that the Members with Special Expertise be re-elected en bloc. This was unanimously **APPROVED**.

7. Any Other Business

Mike Allen, on behalf of all the members, thanked Yvonne Kennison for carrying us through some very difficult times during Covid, including her own health issues. By using Zoom we were able to hold Members Meetings and Committee Meetings. He felt that formal recognition was required for her valuable contribution.

8. Date and Time of next Meeting:

The next AGM would take place on Tuesday 17 September 2024.