Ledbury & District u3a - Annual General Meeting 2022

Minutes of the Annual General Meeting held on 17th November 2022 at the Ledbury Community Hall, Ledbury, starting at 2:33 pm.

Present: 58 members of Ledbury & District u3a

Apologies: Claire Deeley, Guy Walker, Rita Weller, Sue Hill, Jayne McGlone, Jane Mason, Alasdair Gibson, Gill Romanowski, Sue Sutton and Mike Philpot.

1 To receive and approve the minutes of the 2021 AGM held on 18th November 2021: Acceptance of the minutes was proposed by John Worby seconded by Wendy Hill and approved.

2 Matters Arising from the 2021 minutes: There were no matters arising .

3 To receive the Chairman's Report: The report had been previously circulated. Acceptance of the report was proposed by Christine Castro, seconded by Wendy Hill and approved.

4 To receive and approve the financial statement and report for the year ended 31st August 2022: The report had been previously circulated. The treasurer explained that income was lower because of COVID restrictions. Acceptance of the financial statement and report was proposed by Peta McCauley, seconded by Pat Strauss and approved.

5. To appoint an independent examiner: The Treasurer suggested Penny Barton should continue in this role. Proposed by Fred Lumb, Seconded by John Worby and approved.

6. To appoint a Chairman, a Vice Chairman, a Treasurer, a Business Secretary and up to six committee members to serve until the AGM in 2020: The following members had been nominated for these positions: Vice-Chairman: Jane Mason, proposed by Albert Marshall, seconded by Pat Strauss, Treasurer: Fred Lumb, proposed by Penny Barton, seconded by Brenda Worby, Business Secretary: Jennifer Harrison, proposed by John Searle, seconded by Glenis Coates, Committee Members: Sally Holliday, proposed by Liz Wattler, seconded by Brenda Worby, Andy Castro, proposed by Christine Castro, seconded by Christine Davis, Michael Townsend, proposed by Alison Falls, seconded by Sandra Tatum, Kelvin Lynch proposed by Brenda Sugden, seconded by Christine Lynch, Alasdair Gibson, proposed by Michael Philpot, seconded by Gill Bateman. Acceptance of the nominations en bloc was proposed by Geoffrey Sampson, seconded by Jaquie Sampson and approved.

As no nominations had been received for position of Chairman, the Committee proposed that, for one year only, Jane Mason, Michael Townsend and Jennifer Harrison each be nominated to serve on a four month basis. It was proposed by Sue Lane seconded by Sue Wood and unanimously agreed that this arrangement be accepted.

There was question as to whether a Chairman could come from the membership without having experience on the Committee. It was stated that it is preferable for a new Chairman to have been a Committee member and understand how Ledbury & District u3a is run.

7. Any Other Business:

There was a request to remember our late Chairman Roz Randle and a minute's silence was observed.

The Chairman thanked members for attending and closed the meeting at 2:51 pm