

# Minutes of the Seventh u3a Guernsey Annual General Meeting ("AGM") held on Tuesday, 1 August 2022 at 2.30 p.m. at Les Cotils Centre, St Peter Port, Guernsey

**Attendees from the Executive:** Jane Pearson, Alan Chubb, Peter Langford, Gill Slimm, Hazel Solway, Ian Daish, Mary Brogan

1. **Apologies:** June Le Poidevin, Ian Souter, Soo Miller-Boalch and Judy Dyke from the Executive, and members Carol Sheppard, Toni Christine, Eleanor de Kooker, Jax Davies, Peter Carey, Anita Carey, Ernie Queripel, Jean Bishop, Noi Monachan, Sue Macey, Suzette Pederson, Gill Queripel, Elaine van Beck, George Parker, Jane Le Tocq, Sandie White, Margaret Lemon, Pat Child, Alan Child, Nandra Torode, Sue Knowles.

# 2. Quorum:

Additional to the Executive Committee members attending, approximately 135 members also attended and together with the Proxy Forms held (49) by the Executive Committee, the Chair declared a quorum had been achieved.

#### 3. Minutes of the 2022 AGM

**Resolution 1** - the minutes of the 2022 AGM held on 9 August 2022, a copy of which had been circulated and had appeared on the website, were unanimously approved.

## 4. Chair's Welcome & Report

The Chair welcomed members and Jane Pearson presented the Annual Report, a link to the report can be found at: https://u3asites.org.uk/files/g/guernsey/docs/chairsreportagm2023.pdf

# 5. Treasurer's Report

Peter Langford presented the Financial Statements for the period from 1<sup>st</sup> April 2022 to 31<sup>st</sup> March 2023 and gave a brief report, a link to the report can be found at: <a href="https://u3asites.org.uk/files/g/guernsey/docs/treasurersreportagm2023.pdf">https://u3asites.org.uk/files/g/guernsey/docs/treasurersreportagm2023.pdf</a>

#### 6. Reappointment of Mike Dunning as Auditor

**Resolution 2** - the members unanimously agreed to the reappointment of Mike Dunning.

#### 7. Elections to the Executive Committee

**Resolution 3** – as there had been no further nominations, the members unanimously agreed to the election and appointment of the following members to the Executive Committee in the roles set out below:

- Jane Pearson Chair
- Alan Chubb Vice Chair
- Peter Langford Treasurer
- Soo Miller-Boalch Secretary
- Judy Dyke Deputy Treasurer
- Gill Slimm Membership Secretary and Joint Social Secretary

- Mary Brogan Joint Social Secretary
- Ian Souter New Members' Coordinator
- Rachael Hockey Speakers & Events Secretary
- Carolyn Rowe-Hagans
- Jan Ogier

#### 8. Motions

There had been no motions received in writing by the Secretary by 4<sup>th</sup> July 2023.

This completed the formal proceedings of the Annual General Meeting.

# Guest speaker - the Deputy Bailiff, Jessica Roland

The Chair introduced the Deputy Bailiff, Jessica Roland, as a history maker by being the first woman to take up the role of Deputy Bailiff. Jane gave an interesting run through of the journey the Deputy Bailiff had taken to arrive at her current position and ended by saying how pleased she was that Jessica had agreed to be our special guest.

The Deputy Bailiff then gave a fascinating insight into her background and the fact that she was appointed by His Majesty The King. She spoke animatedly of the principal and quite diverse parts of her position including her judicial work and presiding over the States of Deliberation together with attending numerous local events.

Following her talk, the Deputy Bailiff also answered various questions from members.

The Chair thanked the Deputy Bailiff very much for taking the time to come and talk to our members.

The meeting closed at 3.45 p.m.