

Exmouth & District u3a Minutes of Annual General Meeting Thursday 11 May 2023 The Pavilion, Exmouth

Before the AGM started, Christine Chittock (Chair) highlighted the presence of Hospiscare staff available for leaflets/information and also the presence of RNLI collection boxes for the local Exmouth Lifeboat Station. Clare Dawson spoke on behalf of the Social Committee.

Christine Chittock formally opened the Exmouth & District u3a AGM at 10:35 and welcomed everyone to the meeting. She acknowledged with thanks: John Hunt for coordinating the live streaming of the AGM with Ian McLauchlin; Ian Bateman for displaying the screen shots (prepared by Christine Chittock); Lyn Holmes for her role as Vice Chair and Brenda Craig for taking the Minutes.

To be quorate for the AGM, 10% of members were required to be present. At the time of the meeting, this was 92 (total membership 918). 139 members were present in Exmouth Pavilion and John Hunt confirmed a further 12 households were watching via Zoom. The AGM was therefore quorate. In addition, 9 members who were not present in Exmouth Pavilion had asked to vote by proxy. John Hunt voted on behalf of the following members: Hazel James, Margaret Mackintosh, Sandy MacQueen, Ian McLauchlin, Teresa Perrett, John Petty, Carolyn Phillips, Keith Phillips, Bryan Webb.

All relevant documentation had been sent out to members on 24 March and 11 April 2023 and placed on the Exmouth & District u3a website and the Chair gave particular thanks to John Hunt and Camilla Benyon for sending out the information by both email and hard copy.

1. Apologies for Absence

37 apologies were received before the meeting.
Alison Jackson, Harry Atkinson, Susan Atkinson, Eileen Beach, Geoff Beach,
Gill Gorman, Elaine Hibell, Mo Hibell, Roger Homer, John Ingham,
Catherine Kingham, Diane Letcher, Chris Mansell-Guy, Val Mansell-Guy,
Barbara Martin, Jenny Moon, Angela Morland, Rachel Pike, Stephen Rixon,
Lynda Rixon, Alexandra Skinner, Audrey Sprague, Margaret Ward, Liz Wells,
Katherine Wilcox, Derek Williams, Elisabeth Neather, Sue Glover, Jean Jordan,
Patricia Macnamara, Isobel Arnold, Heather Gibson, Val Reynolds, Sue Henson,
Joy Frampton, Roger Moseley, Penelope Leather.

2. Approval of the Exmouth & District u3a AGM Minutes 12 May 2022

The minutes of last year's AGM were circulated to all members on 12 April 2023. Voting for approval of the Minutes was as follows and was therefore approved. Ian McLauchlin was thanked for taking the Minutes.

For	Against	Abstentions
Majority present plus 9 by proxy	0	13

3. Matters Arising

None

4. Trustees' Report

Christine Chittock's Trustees' Report had previously been circulated to all members on 12 April 2023. By way of this report, thanks were given to the Committee, Social Committee and all the volunteers. She highlighted a number of key points;

 2002 was Exmouth & District u3a's 10th Anniversary year, and the 40th year for the u3a nationally. A 10th Anniversary certificate was received from the u3a nationally, a

- copy of which would be put on the website for members to see. The certificate would be held by the Secretary.
- A very generous donation from an Exmouth u3a member resulted in an Exmouth &
 District u3a 100-tree copse being created in the Brecon Beacons National Park and
 10 heritage fruit trees being planted on National Trust land at Lower Halsdon Farm,
 the latter being looked after by National Trust volunteers.
- A beautiful quilt was made by the Quilting for Fun group to mark the 10th Anniversary. The quilt is to be raffled on 8 June 2023 at the Pavilion.

Particular reference was also made to the following people:

- Ella Young for her recommendation to create the hubs.
- Sheila Clarkson for her work welcoming new members.
- Camila Benyon for printing information for members with no internet access.
- Ian McLauchlin for his role as Secretary; in appreciation of his work to Autumn 2022 when he stood down, he had already been presented with a special rose.

Voting for approval of the Trustees Report took place as follows and was therefore approved.

For	Against	Abstentions
Majority present plus 9 by proxy	0	2

5. Treasurer's Report and Accounts 2022-2023

As notified to members on 3 May 2023, the committee decided that, in the absence at the AGM of Stephen Rixon, Treasurer, on holiday, there would be a delay in sending out the Financial Year End Accounts for 2022-23. These will be sent out to members when they have been audited by Mark Hazell, a qualified Chartered Accountant, acting as an Independent Examiner.

6. Subscription for 2024-2025 to remain at £12 per person

The outgoing Committee proposed that the annual subscription for 2024-25 should remain at the current level of £12/person/year. Voting for approval of the 2024-25 subscription to remain the same took place as follows and was therefore approved.

For	Against	Abstentions
Majority present plus 9 by proxy	0	0

7. Election of Officers and Committee Members

The Committee can comprise of between 5 and 12 members. As 6 nominations were received, it was not necessary to hold a ballot. The following nominations for the Committee were received and circulated on 12 April 2023 before the AGM. Voting for approval of the election of Officers and Committee Members took place as follows and was therefore approved.

Role	Nomination	Proposer	Seconder
Chair	Mike Turff	Olivia Pyne	Pam Turff
Vice Chair	Lyn Holmes	Robert Nicholls	Glennis Newton
Secretary	Olivia Pyne	Lin Milsom-Ashby	Sue Bury
Treasurer	Stephen Rixon	Russell Manoy	Martin Trelawney
Committee	Olwen Smith	John Smith	Sheila Clarkson
Committee	Alice Robson	Olwen Smith	John Robson

For	Against	Abstentions
Majority present plus 9 by proxy	0	2

Christine Chittock gave a warm welcome to the new Chair, Mike Turff, the new Secretary, Olivia Pyne and other committee members.

8. Any other previously notified business

There had been no notification of any other business.

The AGM was formally closed by Christine Chittock at 10:51.

Following an excellent presentation by Ian Bateman, for which he was thanked by Christine Chittock, sincere thanks and the presentation of gifts were given to the following retirees for their service to Exmouth & District u3a:

- Melanie Parker: Database Manager and former Equipment Manager, for her vital work behind the scenes to ensure smooth running for all members.
 Alison Hazell will now take on this role.
- Ann Newby: Speakers Coordinator, for organising both past and future speakers and in particular for rearranging the venue for the monthly meetings in January and February 2024.
- Marion Ricketts: Founder member of the steering group for Exmouth & District u3a and Website Manager for an amazing 11 years.
- John Hunt: Newsletter Editor & Technology Manager (including YouTube, Coffee & Chat and Connect & Learn). In particular for personally helping over 100 members to connect to Zoom during lockdown.
 - Rachel Cockell becomes the new Newsletter Editor, assisted by Celia Jenkins.
- Brenda Craig, for covering as Minutes Secretary from December 2022 and for comprehensive and useful minutes.
 - Liz Geach becomes the new Minutes Secretary.

Lyn Holmes, Vice Chair, then thanked Christine Chittock on behalf of the Committee and members and presented her with a gift in recognition of all her hard work and the continuous contribution she had made to the Exmouth & District u3a.

Signed: Brenda Craig	Date 11th May 2023	11 May 2023
Brenda Craig, Minutes Secretary		