

Registered Charity number 1168310

Minutes of the Annual General Meeting (AGM) of Dunmow u3a, held at 2pm on Wednesday 29 June 2022 at Foakes Hall, Great Dunmow

Committee:

Jane Tadman (JT) Chair

Terry Parker (TP) Vice Chair, Membership Sec, Beacon Admin and Asset Management

Peter Watson (PW) Committee Information Administrator
Mike Best (MB) Events Manager/nominated incoming Chair

Ian Marshall (IM) Treasurer

Derek Jones (DJ) Assistant Treasurer Heather Quiney (HQ) Newsletter Editor Anna Fletcher (AF) Executive Secretary Philip Garrison (PG) taking Minutes

- 1. JT welcomed everybody to the meeting, particularly new members.
- 2. Apologies for absence were received from Rosemary Jensen, Hilary Jinno and Pat Jones.
- 3. **Minutes of the last Annual General Meeting**, which was held on Wednesday 30 June 2021, had been circulated to all members with the AGM invitation and posted on the website. Agreement of the minutes was proposed by Mike Best and seconded by Anna Fletcher.
- 4. Matters arising: none.
- 5. **Annual Report of u3a activities during 2021/2022 presented by the Chair.** JT reminded members that the full report was on the website, but highlighted some of the points.

Last year's AGM was on Zoom, but now we can meet again in person. JT was heartened by all the positive comments she had received but after three years she is stepping down as Chair, though she will continue to support Dunmow u3a. She thanked all those members who have supported Du3a in any way, and she gave particular thanks to Marilyn and Roger Hammond for their tireless production of the monthly newsletter over the years since Du3a began.

As we emerged from the Covid lockdowns last summer, a Group Refresh Day was held. Each group set up a stall to remind members what u3a has to offer. New members were recruited, and new groups started. Dunmow u3a was buzzing again!

89 new members joined Du3a in the year 2021/22, giving a total of 574 members, slightly higher than the year before.

Trustee resignations from the committee were received from Jane Tadman (Chair) and Carol Yarwood (Treasurer).

Philip Garrison has taken over the role of taking minutes at committee meetings from Maureen Best.

6. Treasurer's Report, Examined Accounts and Report of Independent Examiner 2021/2022. These had been circulated prior to the meeting. Agreement to the Treasurer's Report was proposed by Peter Watson and seconded by Maureen Best, with 12 votes from the floor. Agreement of the Report of the Independent Examiner was proposed by Heather Quiney and seconded by Terry Parker, with 10 votes from the floor.

7. Election of Executive Committee Officers:

Chair: Mike Best. Proposed by Lyn Fitzgibbon and seconded by Antony Johnson, with 15 votes from the floor in addition to those cast by email or via the website.

Treasurer: Ian Marshall. Proposed by Carol Yarwood and seconded by Marina Chrysostomou, with 16 votes from the floor in addition to those cast by other means.

8. Election of Executive Committee Members:

Events Manager: Hilary Jinno. Proposed by Bryony Rees and seconded by Jan Moffat, with 18 votes from the floor in addition to those cast by other means.

Newsletter Editor: Heather Quiney. Proposed by C Kanharn and seconded by H C Brooks, with 23 votes from the floor in addition to those cast by other means

9. **Proposed motions:** none.

A quorum was reached and all motions were carried from email, online, and voting by a show of hands from those present who had not previously voted. At least 92 votes were cast in favour of each proposal before the meeting.

The AGM closed at 2:13pm.