Droitwich Spa & District u3a

Minutes of the 11th Annual General Meeting Monday, 19 June 2023

1. Apologies for Absence:

John Baker, John Bodger, Pam Douglas, Nigel East, Pamela Gosling, Justine Grice, Arthur Grice, Michael Griffin, Janette Hall, Sandra Hawke, Les Hazlewood, Jenny Hazlewood, Edward Helps, Frances Hood, Mary Jones, Peter Latham, Peter Marrs, Shirley Millington, Paul Mobey, Neil Pope, Jean Roberts, Anita Searle, Roger Smallwood, Gillian Sutton

It was noted that a total of 46 email votes had been received in favour of the proposals below from those members unable to attend the meeting

2. Chairman's Welcome

The vice-Chair, Mike Bracey (572) welcomed the 87 members who were in attendance [Quorum for the meeting was 72 members, based on a membership of 477 on 19 June 2023]

3. Approval of 2021 Minutes and Matters Arising

The minutes of the previous AGM had been circulated by post and email to members prior to the meeting. These were accepted by the members present, and no issues were raised

4. Charity Trustees Report These reports had been previously circulated and

5. Chairman's Report were accepted without further comment

6. Secretary's Report

7. Approval of the Accounts 2022-2023 and Treasurer's Report

The accounts had previously been circulated. Approval of the accounts was proposed by Peter Leonard (253) and seconded by Val Pedler (19) and agreed by those present

8. Approval of Independent Examiner

Margaretta Swann (782) has offered her services as Independent Examiner for 2023-2024 and this was unanimously agreed

9. Appeal for candidate(s) for Chairman and non-officer Committee Members

No nominations for Vice-Chair or Committee Members were received. This will be deferred to the next Committee Meeting for comment

10. Election of Officers

The following nominations had been received:

Chair Mike Bracey (572) Treasurer Paul Lynskey (790)
Vice-chair vacancy Business Secretary Les Hazlewood (42)

11. Election of Committee

The following nominations had been received:

Susan Ackrill (911) Anne Everard (336) Carole Smallwood (21)

Geoff Stollard (971) Barry Tait (900)

The election, en block, of the Officers and Committee Members was proposed by Jenny Leonard (252) and seconded by Steve Hawley (002) and agreed by those present

12. AOB

Following Val Hawley's decision to step down, the current Committee proposed that Gay Enoch (46) should be elected as Honorary President, as thanks for and in recognition of her outstanding work in taking Droitwich Spa & District u3a through the pandemic and beyond. Val Hawley (001) proposed the appointment and Pat Niner (239) seconded. All members present heartily agreed to the appointment

13. Date of Next AGM 17 June 2024

The meeting was then closed at 2.45 pm