

MINUTES OF THE TENTH ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING OF BENFLEET U3A 28TH SEPTEMBER 2021

The Chair opened the meeting and welcomed 85 members, both Full and SIM, to the AGM.

The Agenda for this meeting, together with the Minutes of the 2020 AGM, the Accounts for 2020/21 and the proposed revised Constitution had been previously circulated by email and post to all members. Copies of these papers were also provided at the meeting.

1. Apologies for Absence from Committee Members

Apologies were received from Lee King and Sheila Sears.

2. Minutes of Benfleet AGM held on 29th September 2020

The Chair hoped members had been able to read the Minutes before the meeting.

3. Matters arising from Minutes

The Chair asked members whether there were any questions or matters arising from the Minutes and none were forthcoming.

4. Acceptance of Minutes

Acceptance was proposed by Linda Burdett and seconded by Pat Williams. A vote was taken and the Minutes were unanimously approved.

5. Chairman's Report

The written report was included as part of the Agenda previously circulated.

The Chair informed members that the changes to the Committee this year were as a result of the terms of office of several Committee members coming to an end.

The 10th Anniversary Tea had been a great success, with good food and fine weather. Everyone had enjoyed the afternoon and the Committee had received many messages of thanks.

6. Treasurer's Report

A written report was included as part of the Agenda previously circulated. The retiring Treasurer thanked members for their support over the past five years.

7. Benfleet U3A Accounts 2020/21

The Accounts had been circulated with the Agenda. No queries were forthcoming from members.

7.1 Acceptance of Accounts

Proposed by Sue Lewsey and seconded by Eddie Williams. A vote was taken and the Accounts were accepted unanimously.

7.2 Approval for Clouders to be appointed as examiner of the accounts for 2021/22 Proposed by Linda Aldridge and seconded by Brian Harrington. A vote was taken and the motion unanimously approved.

8. Election of Committee Members

8.1 Nomination for the position of Vice Chair

One nomination had been received for Shirley Wolfe, proposed by Marion Coleman and seconded by S Gomer.

A vote was taken and it was unanimously approved that Shirley Wolfe be appointed as Vice Chair for a term of three years.

8.2 Nomination for the position of Treasurer

One nomination had been received for Rina Monro, proposed by Jackie Liberty and seconded by Neil Liberty.

A vote was taken and it was unanimously approved that Rina Monro be appointed as Treasurer for a term of four years.

8.3 Nomination for the position of Business Secretary

One nomination had been received for Sandra Bedwell, proposed by Janet Parish and seconded by Carol Noble.

A vote was taken and it was unanimously approved that Sandra Bedwell be appointed as Business Secretary for a term of four years.

8.4 Nominations for the four vacant positions on the Committee.

The Chair explained that, since circulation of the Agenda, a Committee member had decided to stand down and this meant that there were now five vacancies. As five nominations had been received, there was no longer a need to hold a ballot.

Nominations had been received for:

Alan Aldridge Proposed by Colin Firth and seconded by Annette Firth A vote was taken and it was unanimously approved that Alan Aldridge be appointed to the Committee for a term of four years.

Iris Mead Proposed by Sheila Sears and seconded by Derick Mead A vote was taken and it was unanimously approved that Iris Mead be appointed to the Committee for a term of four years.

Bob MunsonProposed by Janet Humphrey and seconded by Tricia MunsonA vote was taken and it was unanimously approved that Bob Munson be appointedto the Committee for a term of four years.

Denise Phipps Proposed by Maria Kelly and seconded by Sue Lewsey A vote was taken and it was unanimously approved that Denise Phipps be appointed to the Committee for a term of four years.

Ian PhippsProposed by Sue Lewsey and seconded by Peter LewseyA vote was taken and it was unanimously approved thatIan Phippsbe appointedto the Committee for a term of four years.

9. Approval of Benfleet U3A Constitution

The proposed Constitution had been circulated with the Agenda which explained the amendments being made. The Chair explained that the amendments were in line with Charity Commission requirements regarding on line and hybrid meetings.

No questions were forthcoming from members and they were asked to formally approve the amended Constitution.

Proposed by Pauline Harrington and seconded by Linda Burdett. A vote was taken and the amended Constitution was unanimously approved.

10. Any Other Business

There was no other business.

11. Questions from Members

No questions were forthcoming.

The Chair made a presentation to those members of the Committee who were standing down and thanked them for their support and work over the past years.

There being no further business the meeting closed at 2.25pm

(To be signed and dated when approved by the members at the AGM in September 2022)

Cole Signed: ____ _____ (Chair)

Dated: <u>27-9-2022</u>