Cannock Chase

Welcome to Cannock Chase U3A


Welcome to the website for Cannock Chase U3A, for members from the towns of Cannock, Rugeley and nearby villages surrounding Cannock Chase. The Chase is an area of outstanding natural beauty (AONB) in South Staffordshire. Our base is in one of these villages, Slitting Mill, where most of our meetings are held in the village hall, Victory Hall (postcode is WS15 2UW), although some might be held at Cannock or Rugeley Fire Stations, or alternative venues.25th Anniversary Prizes

We have monthly meetings with speakers, and a chance to chat over refreshments. Click here to see our latest Presentation. We also have social events, such as our Autumn Tea Party, Christmas Lunch, Christmas Party, and others from time to time throughout the year.

Occasionally there are specialist workshops too; for example in Summer 2016 we had a series of workshops on Creative Writing.

For further details of these meetings, outings and other events, see the Events page.

We have a number of Interest Groups which meet regularly. These are organised by the U3A members themselves, and any member whose interest is not catered for is encouraged to start a new group. For further details of our current groups, see the Groups page.

You can also get an idea of our activities by viewing the photos on the Photos page, as well as from our latest Members' Newsletter (click on the link in the "Notices" column to the right).

See also our Facebook entry (this needs to open in a new window).

You are welcome to come along and visit us at our monthly meeting for an entrance fee of £1. If you decide to join, there is a £9 membership fee for the year.

Currently, our committee members (see photos below) are:

Our CommitteeCommittee cutting cake at the party

Beetle Drive, 18th April 2018

  • Irene Bohanan (Events Co-ordinator)
  • Julie Bould
  • David Clissold (Membership Secretary)
  • Valma Cooper (Vice Chairman & Business Secretary)
  • Stephen Crutchley (Treasurer)
  • Elaine Holton
  • Barry James (Chairman)
  • Hedley James
  • Micheline "Mitch" Salomonson (Groups Co-ordinator)
  • Sheila Simpson

Other positions include:

Speaker meetings organised by Liz Watts & Chris Wheatcroft
Newsletter produced by Jill Heaps
Website maintained by Ian Gordon
Hospitality Co-ordinator (vacant)
Publicity Co-ordinator (vacant).

PLEASE NOTE: During early 2018 we need to appoint some new committee members, so if you are interested in participating (a valuable role which asks just a little of your time), please contact Barry, Valma or any of the above.

NB: Click on highlighted links (text in different colour) to read associated documents, other pages, or external websites.