Ashbourne & District


Ashbourne and District U3A now has a paid-for Zoom account that can carry all of our groups and monthly meetings, particularly whilst Covid-19 means we cannot have face to face meetings. Any group can use it. A maximum of 100 people can join any meeting, and the meeting can last as long as you like.
Only one meeting can take place at any one time; so we need to co-ordinate bookings. There is a central booking calendar run by our Secretary Sheila Crawley. If you want to book a slot, please complete the Zoom Application displayed on the right-hand side of this page & email it to Sheila at

General Advice and Information for Group Leaders

Once the committee has approved the setting up of a group, you are fully protected by the liability insurance policy provided by the Third Age Trust.
During 2018 there were many changes to Data Protection Regulations and our U3A has no choice other than to comply. Otherwise we risk a fine. For more detailed guidance click on Members\' Data and Email.
These Regulations can be rather daunting & so, if you need help or guidance on this or any other issue, please do not hesitate to contact the Ashbourne U3A’s Groups’ Co-ordinator or the Secretary. We are here to help.
Delegate responsibilities among other members of your group when & where you can in order to spread the workload.
If you feel your group would benefit from having a particular item of equipment, consult your Groups’ Co-ordinator in the first instance. Funding may be available.
When you wish to relinquish leadership of a group, please inform the Group Co-ordinator who will guide you through the procedures agreed in committee. This will involve passing all records held by you to a successor or deleting them from your computer.

For advice for Group Leaders on:
Resources & Publications to Assist, click on Resources
Your Group Members, click on Member status
Privacy of Members’ Data, click on Members\' Data
Email Communications, click on Email
Accommodation, click on Accommodation
Group Finances, click on Finances
Dealing with Problems, click on Problems
Disabled Members, click on Disabilities
Photographs, click on Photographs
Visitors & Member’s Guests, click on Visitors


The following persons are the Executive Committee for 2022 - 23
Chair: Sheila Crawley
Vice-Chairman: Peter Worboys
Treasurer: Sue Edmonds
Secretary: Alan Keizer

Non-Officer Members:
Philip Aitchison
Kevin Barclay - Membership Secretary
Pamela Boura
Pat Faulkner
Sue Hall
Mavis Lund
Tony Walden
Joy Watson

The Constitution

Click The New Constitution to see the Constitution adopted October 2021

Data Protection Regulation

Click on Privacy Policy for Ashbourne & District U3A’s Privacy Policy in compliance with Data Protection Regulation