Arun West

Meetings

Details of our Monthly Talks at Yapton Village Hall.
We meet on the 2nd Wednesday of the month. £1 for U3A members. £2 for visitors. Refreshments included.
Click on the link on the right to see the poster of the next meeting.

Wednesday 13 February 2019 – Kent, Surrey and Sussex Air Ambulance. The talk will outline the work of the air ambulance providing life-saving care 24 hours a day.

Wednesday 13 March 2019 – Turning Year of Sussex Customs – Michael Lynn. He will talk about Sussex Customs and enhance the talk with songs and harmonica playing.

Wednesday 24 April 2019 – Annual General Meeting – No monthly Talk

Wednesday 8 May 2019 – West Sussex Crime Police Commissioner – Katy Bourne. Katy will talk about her role in this post since 2012.

Wednesday 12 June 2019 – Six of the Worst by John Hartley, a Commander in the Royal Navy (Retd). John will talk about six of nature’s most devastating phenomena, showing pictures of their awesome power.

Wednesday 10 July 2019 – Honeybees and Beekeeping – Michelle. Michelle will talk about her passion for bee keeping and all things bee related.

Wednesday 14 August 2019 – George Bernard Shaw – Brian Freeland. A homage to the man who got Brian Freeland involved in theatrical productions. A one-man show, it tells the life story of Shaw with humour and affection.

Wednesday 11 September 2019 – Tudors – Paul Ullson. Paul will talk about the influence of the Tudors in Sussex.

Wednesday 9 October 2019 – Why a Good Night’s Sleep Matters – Peter Venn. Dr Peter Venn is the Clinical Director at the Sleep Disorder Centre in Queen Victoria Hospital, East Grinstead. He makes a serious topic very entertaining.

Wednesday 13 November 2019 – Celebratory History of Christmas – Andy Thomas. In an uplifting presentation, Andy uncovers the fascinating background to the festive season. From the ancient ceremonies of light in the darkness, to the marking of the birth of a Messiah, mid-December has long been a time for rejoicing. Andy shows why, for all the modern commercialism, Christmas has survived and still has meaning for us today.

Wednesday 11 December 2019 – Arun West Members Christmas Event.