Conductor Sir Roger Norrington

Beethoven – Overture, The Creatures of Prometheus
Beethoven – Piano Concerto no.3
Beethoven – Symphony no.3 (Eroica) – Francesco Piemontesi - Piano

See below for Booking details.




Conductor Kiril Karabits
Rachmaninov – Symphony no.1
Tchaikovsky – Violin Concerto – Nemanja Radulovic – Violin
Rachmaninov – Caprice bohemian

See below for Booking details. NOTE TICKETS INCREASED TO £33 per head


Tickets are now £33 to include Concert tickets and ‘door to door’ coach travel.

The Coach leaves from Alton Library at 6.45pm prompt and will generally return to Alton at about 10.45/11pm.

Bookings and further information from Steve Barnes, 01420 89116

As all concerts have to be paid for in advance, I must receive your payment for these one month at the latest before the Concert date!

Cheques payable to ALTON U3A Classical Concerts, and sent to Steve Barnes at 35 Vicarage Road, Alton, GU34 1NZ or pay by BAC's - Details in Blue Book page 2

Full details of all Concerts can be found at -

Our seats, which are easily accessible, are situated in the Choir area directly behind the Orchestra offering an excellent view of the Orchestra, Guest Instrumentalists and the Conductor.

NOTE: There is access from the street level by lift direct to the 2nd floor for those who find stairs a problem!

Steve Barnes ..........Concert Organiser


Report on the Anvil Concert by the Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment with Violinist, Nicola Benedetti. February 8th, 2018

“Yes, it was a very full house. Apparently that’s the first time it’s been that busy in about 10 years”, Those were the words of the Anvil Groups Organiser when I spoke to him last Friday. (He obviously doesn’t recall the visit of Sir Simon Rattle two years ago. – Also a sell-out!)

The previous evening February 8th, a good number of Classical concert lovers travelled by coach to the Anvil to see a very special young lady violinist – Nicola Benedetti M.B.E, accompanied by the wonderful Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment conducted by world famous Marin Alsop

Seated in our usual spot behind the orchestra in the Choir stalls it soon became obvious that it was going to be a very full house. The lift attendant had said that there were very few empty seats for the night’s performance!

The programme consisted of two items, the first being the Symphony No. 4 in B flat composed by Ludwig van Beethoven in 1806. After the interval we were treated to Beethoven’s Violin Concert in D also in 1806. Whilst he was composing these pieces he was also sketching out his thoughts for his Fifth Symphony! (How did these composers manage without the benefit of computers??)

For those not aware, the Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment is not as large in numbers as the more usual concert orchestra and play period instruments or replicas from the time the music was written. Long Trumpets without valves, resembling trombones!, likewise the French horns, their players having an array of different lengths of tubing which they could interchange as required. Each concert is the result of hours of research to reproduce the sounds the composer may have heard.

Needless to say, you really needed to be there to enjoy the music, but to my unprofessional ear the performances were superb and Nicola Benedetti was a triumph. Tall, slender and in complete control yet finding time to turn her head to smile at various members of the orchestra whilst Marin Alsop conducted in her own very relaxed style for which she has become famous. A splendid evening!

The March 15th concert by the Stuttgart Symphony Orchestra is almost full with three seats remaining at the time of writing, and I am now taking bookings for the concert given by the brilliant Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra on Thursday, April 19th details of which can be found in the Blue Book (Page 9) and postered in the Community Centre. If you want tickets at a very slightly increased price of £33, contact Steve Barnes on 01420 89116