Please use the buttons or tabs above to explore our site
(N.B. There are recent notices on the Welcome Page)
St Gwenfaen’s Rhoscolyn,
At one time Rhoscolyn, once called Llanwenfaen (Church of Gwenfaen), was an important church with chapels of ease at Llanfair yn Neubwll and Llanfihangel yn Nhowyn. There has been a church on the site since 630 AD, when it was dedicated to Gwenfaen, daughter of Pawl Hen of Manaw (Isle of Man), who made her cloister here. Legend has it that Gwenfaen, who was renowned for healing mental illness, was chased away from her cell by druids and escaped by climbing the rock stack off Rhoscolyn head. The tide came in and she was carried away by angels, which is how Saints Bay got its name. The present church is the result of rebuilding between 1875 and 1879.